Development of Cloud Software

AZUR Innova is an exciting Cloud initiative. Its main goal is to boost the proficiency of business unit stakeholders with a unique Optimized Agile Solution. It offers a very efficient way to develop high quality Cloud solutions for medium and large businesses.

LEARN MORE

Smart Treasury Management Solution

EFS is a Canadian and multilingual solution developed by local treasurers. It is flexible and adaptable to your cash management needs. It enables treasurers and CFOs to simplify and automate their operations, improve decision-making and ensure optimal risk management.

LEARN MORE

Blog

Articles

14 December 2018

Key Performance Indicators (KPIs): A simple matter of survival for treasury

Written by Paul Tawel

For a variety of reasons, it is often difficult to evaluate the performance of treasury departments. First, the responsibilities entrusted to treasury departments can vary greatly from one company to next. Aside from corporate financing and cash management, treasury departments can provide a multitude of services (e.g. risk management, investor relations, mergers and acquisitions, negotiation of insurance coverage, taxation, etc.). Each one of these roles have different criteria for success, making performance tracking extremely difficult.

The treasury’s influence has grown and expanded into businesses in recent years. More than ever, the treasury’s work is intimately interlocked with that of other departments. This makes identifying its specific contribution harder and, assessing its contribution more complex. In the case of treasury, all the excellence parameters must be defined. This is not the case for other functions or business units. Targets and KPIs are already well known in the financial community, with attractive income, purchasing, perception of receivables and issuance of disbursements.

However, things are beginning to change. Ever-increasing competition and recent financial crises have led the senior management of most organizations to question the efficiency and effectiveness of their business and demand more from their treasury department.

In this context, treasurers are required to address their responsibilities under the aegis of progress and advancement. And, obviously, what is not measured cannot be improved. Therefore, they have the duty to implement the information systems that will allow them to track their operations rigorously. The activities that are critical / strategic to their organizations deserve special monitoring at periodic intervals. It is a matter of control. To be effective, they must know at all times the probability that objectives are met, make the right decisions to re-engineer processes and make adjustments when something is wrong.

Choosing the right KPIs is not an easy task. This exercise involves identifying parameters that really matter, and demonstrate beyond any doubt the benefits generated by cash. Using inappropriate measures may provide an incomplete representation and erroneous or biased reality likely to undermine the credibility of a treasury department.

Performance indicators are numerous and can cover the following areas:

  • Money market
  • Cash management
  • Risk management
  • Forecast cash flow
  • Working capital management
  • Operating budget

EFS can help your organization follow these best practices. Start a 30 day free trial today!

 

Related articles

Développement de logiciels Cloud

AZUR Innova est une initiative novatrice dans le domaine du Cloud. Sa priorité est d'accroître le savoir-faire des décideurs des unités d'affaires au moyen d'une solution Agile optimisée. Hautement efficace, celle-ci permet de livrer des logiciels en nuage de haute qualité pour les moyennes et grandes entreprises.

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Gestion intelligente de trésorerie

EFS est une solution canadienne et multilingue élaborée par des trésoriers d’ici. Elle est flexible et adaptable à vos besoins de gestion de trésorerie. Elle permet aux trésoriers et directeurs financiers de simplifier et d’automatiser leurs opérations, d’améliorer la prise de décision et d’assurer une gestion optimale du risque.

En savoir plus

Blogue

Articles

14 décembre 2018

Les indices de performance clés (KPIs): Une simple question de survie pour la trésorerie

Écrit par Paul Tawel

La trésorerie est l’une des fonctions financières dont la performance est la plus difficile à évaluer, et ce, pour diverses raisons. D’abord, ses responsabilités varient d’une entreprise à l’autre. Outre le financement corporatif et le « cash management », la trésorerie peut parfois offrir une multitude de services (i.e. gestion de risque, relations avec les investisseurs, fusion-acquisition, négociation des couvertures d’assurance, fiscalité, etc.) et chacune de ces activités possède des critères de réussite différents.

Ensuite, son influence a grandi et s’est élargie dans l’entreprise au cours des dernières années. Plus que jamais, son travail est intimement imbriqué à celui d’autres départements. Cela rend l’identification spécifique de son apport plus difficile et, par le fait même, l’évaluation de sa contribution plus complexe.

Finalement, pour la trésorerie, tous les paramètres d’excellence sont à définir. Ceci n’est pas le cas pour d’autres fonctions ou unités d’affaire. Les cibles et KPIs sont déjà bien connus de la communauté financière en ce qui a trait aux revenus, achats, perception des recevables et émission des déboursés.

Cependant, les choses commencent à changer et avec la concurrence atteignant de nouveaux sommets et les récentes crises financières qui ont amené la haute direction de la plupart des organisations à se questionner sur l’efficience et l’efficacité de leur entreprise et à exiger plus de leur département de trésorerie.

Dans ce contexte, les trésoriers sont appelés à aborder leurs responsabilités sous l’égide du progrès et de l’avancement. Et, de toute évidence, on ne peut améliorer ce que l’on ne mesure pas. Par conséquent, ils ont le devoir de mettre en place les systèmes d’information qui leur permettront de suivre leurs opérations avec rigueur. Les activités qui sont critiques ou stratégiques pour leur organisation méritent particulièrement d’être surveillées à intervalle périodique. C’est une simple question de contrôle. Pour être performant, il faut connaître en tout temps la probabilité que les objectifs soient atteints et prendre les bonnes décisions afin remanier les processus, corriger le tir lorsque quelque chose ne va pas.

Choisir les bons KPIs n’est pas une mince affaire. Cet exercice nécessite l’identification des paramètres qui comptent réellement, ceux qui démontrent hors de tout doute les bénéfices générés par la trésorerie. L’utilisation de mesures inappropriées risque de fournir une représentation incomplète, erronée ou biaisée de la réalité ce qui portera atteinte à la crédibilité du département.

Les indicateurs de performance sont nombreux et peuvent couvrir les domaines suivants:

  • Marché monétaire
  • Cash management
  • Prévisions des flux monétaires
  • Gestion de risque
  • Gestion du fonds de roulement
  • Budget d’exploitation

Il est important de mesurer activement le rendement de la trésorerie afin de sécuriser son existence. Cette évaluation est cruciale car elle permettra à la haute direction de juger dans quelle mesure elle doit soutenir cette fonction et fournir les ressources nécessaires à son bon fonctionnement.

Articles qui pourraient vous intéressés